First (okay, Second) Impressions of London

Aside

I’ve been to London once before when I was studying Lystrosaurus for my Master’s, but it was right after a big conference. I was quite tired and pressed for time, so I didn’t get to do any sightseeing while I was here. I just went to and from work. So this’ll be the first time I actually get to experience the city.

  • Wow the Chunnel was underwhelming. Too bad getting a ferry would of been way more expensive and a huge hassle.
  • People who put small, lightweight luggage on the bottom racks of trains–I and everyone else carrying big, heavy luggage hate you.
  • St. Pancras station seems to be full of non-Brits. Less patiently waiting in queues and more standing in my way as I try to navigate the place. I don’t understand people who think it’s okay to stop in choke points to check their things while taking up as much room as possible.
  • The recycling bins here are also enormous.
  • Oh hey, the crosswalks have painted “look lefts” and “look rights” on them. That’s helpful!
  • One of the roads I walked down to get to my hostel changed names three times in half a mile. What.
  • It seems the day starts even later here. Breakfast isn’t ’til 8.
  • This hostel has great, very friendly service and plenty of amenities (a full kitchen and plenty of travel items you can borrow for free!).
  • It also has 6 very tall stories with no lift and I’m on the 6th floor. Luggage=pain.
  • I walked down Tottingham Court Road yesterday. It wasn’t as grimy as I expected. (Kudos if you get the reference.)
Leave a Reply

